NCAAF - Nebraska Cornhuskers
View another team:

Nebraska News

Big Ten's Delany says old mistakes to blame for college woes

CHICAGO (AP) Outgoing Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany kicked off his final Big Ten football media days Thursday by saying he thinks some serious mistakes made in the 1970s created problems today in college athletics.

Delany, who is in his 31st and final year as commissioner, said the loss of the four-year scholarship, the ending of the $15 weekly "laundry" stipend for athletes and allowing freshmen to play have all contributed to various headaches.

Standings - Big Ten West

Teams W L T Pct Div Conf
NW 9 5 0 .643 8-2 9-5
Iowa 9 4 0 .692 5-4 8-4
Wisc 8 5 0 .615 5-4 8-5
Purd 6 7 0 .462 5-4 6-7
Minn 7 6 0 .538 3-6 7-6
Neb 4 8 0 .333 3-6 3-8
Ill 4 8 0 .333 2-7 3-8

Team Leaders

Team Rankings - Offense

Total Big Ten Rank Div I - FBS Rank
PPG 30.0 6 57
RuY/G 209.0 4 28
Yds/G 247.2 4 51
TO 22 9 93
Rat 90.0 5 64

Team Rankings - Defense

Total Big Ten Rank Div I - FBS Rank
PA/G 31.3 12 88
RuY/G 195.8 12 96
Yds/G 237.8 9 78
TA 20 9 56
Sk 25 6 75

Latest Game - Nov 23, 2018

Final 1 2 3 4 T
Neb(4-8) 7 6 0 15 28
Iowa(8-4) 7 14 7 3 31

PassingRushingReceiving
Neb Martinez 26/38-260 Gifford 1-5 Reimers 1-5
Iowa Rastetter 1/1-1 Stanley 1-10 Sargent 3-4

Player News

No player news at this time.

Last 5 Games

Date Team Result
Fri, Nov 23 @Iowa L, 31-28 Boxscore Recap
Sat, Nov 17 Michigan State W, 9-6 Boxscore Recap
Sat, Nov 10 Illinois W, 54-35 Boxscore Recap
Sat, Nov 3 @Ohio State L, 36-31 Boxscore Recap
Sat, Oct 27 Bethune-Cookman W, 45-9 Boxscore Recap

Next 5 Games

Date Team Time
Sat, Aug 31 South Alabama 12:00PM EDT Preview
Sat, Sep 7 @Colorado 3:30PM EDT Preview
Sat, Sep 14 Northern Illinois 8:00PM EDT Preview
Sat, Sep 21 @Illinois 1:00PM EDT Preview
Sat, Sep 28 Ohio State 1:00PM EDT Preview